Featured Please help identify this Mystery oil lamp...

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by Hugo Maas, Jan 31, 2020.

1. Hugo Maas

Hugo Maas Silver Surfbum

Hi, I hope this is the correct forum to post this thread, I'm a newbie. Just joined. Please alert me to any faux pas I may bumble on...
    Is it possible that someone has knowledge of this lamp I recently purchased from a pioneer family on Vancouver Island. Any guidance in style identification, date and place of production... And possibly a value? I've grown up surrounded by antiques, have always admired oil lamps, but have never come across anything like this...
    cheers Screenshot_20200131_121818_com.android.gallery3d.jpg Screenshot_20200131_121932.jpg Screenshot_20200131_121833_com.android.gallery3d.jpg Screenshot_20200131_121957.jpg

2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

nice lamp !

Aquitaine and Christmasjoy like this.
  3. Hugo Maas

Hugo Maas Silver Surfbum

Thanks!

Aquitaine and Christmasjoy like this.
  4. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

Hugo, I'm going to "tag" a member who knows much about oil lamps. Hopefully he can come by in response soon.

@Brazos Are you able to help with Hugo's oil lamp?

5. KikoBlueEyes

KikoBlueEyes Well-Known Member

6. Christmasjoy

Christmasjoy Well-Known Member

VERY nice .. LOVE the colour !! ... Joy. :)

Aquitaine likes this.
  7. Hugo Maas

Hugo Maas Silver Surfbum

Thank you So Much! I hope one day I may be of help to other lost souls like myself. It's a thrilling journey...

Christmasjoy likes this.
  8. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member

No idea, but I like it. Painted glass? Combination of transfer an hand painting? The two together might point later rather than earlier, but how much later and define Late. When did Vancouver get widespread electric service, for starters? Parts of the US didn't get it until the 1930s and oil lamps were still made right up until WWII if memory serves. Later for some special purpose items.