Featured Please help this non-catholic?

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by Melissa Brown, Jul 12, 2017.

1. Melissa Brown

Melissa Brown Well-Known Member

I'm back to sorting through the boxes and have found several religious items. I'll start with this one.

It fits in the sweet little leather pouch.

It kind of feels like pewter, it seems to test for silver (although I'm a self professed newbie at testing), but has no marks I can find.

The "pages" turn easily, it feels well made and "vintage". It's in the accumulation from someone born around 1900-1905.

Any help with what it is, how it's worn and used, and it's age, would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you :)

IMG_7905.JPG IMG_7909.JPG IMG_7910.JPG IMG_7911.JPG IMG_7906.JPG IMG_7905.JPG

2. Melissa Brown

3. silverthwaite II

silverthwaite II Well-Known Member

I have heard of these, but have never seen one. It's really lovely. Try looking it up under Holy Family iconography. Sorry to be so unhelpful!

And it may be silver, but it also may be pewter. Try polishing a bit.

judy, Christmasjoy and Melissa Brown like this.
  4. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

Sort of like a combo-pack of Miraculous Medals? (Sorry if that offends anyone.)

judy, Christmasjoy and Melissa Brown like this.
  5. Melissa Brown

Thanks @silverthwaite II. I lightly polished it with a sunshine cloth and used a leather moisturizer on the pouch.

Do you know what it is?

judy and Christmasjoy like this.
  6. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member

They generally call them four in one medals or the like. This one looks like it's meant to be a watch chain and fob or something similar. I'm a Baptist, btw, so my terminology may be a bit off.

7. Melissa Brown

...watch fob/chain makes sense @evelyb30 ....there were several others in this collection. Here are a couple of them...

IMG_7946.JPG

Christmasjoy likes this.
  8. evelyb30

Bingo. Is that elephant a synthetic, or the "usual material"?

9. Melissa Brown