Qianlong Vase : Fake or Original

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by Bill Giles, May 10, 2020.

1. Bill Giles

Bill Giles Member

Hi

I am new to the antique market and recently sold an antique vase on eBay for a fixed price and which was then put straight back on eBay and re-sold by the buyer under bid for more than 25 times what he paid for it from me.
    A couple of days ago I bid successfully on a similar vase but the mark on the base of the new vase was slightly different.
    I have attached the images on the base of both vases for an opinion as to whether the 2nd image is a fake or original as per the 1st image
    Would greatly appreciate any feedback and advice as I am still learning
    Thanks
    Bill

Attached Files:

2. Houseful

Houseful Well-Known Member

That’s tough sorry to hear that. I’ve undersold things but not to that extent, (as far as I know). Someone will be along to help but you could look at the Gotheborg site to check your marks. To me your sold vase looks newer than the bought one BWDIK. It often helps if people can see the whole vases though.

Bakersgma likes this.
  3. scoutshouse

scoutshouse Well-Known Member

Hi @Bill Giles, welcome

Pleas use the little "picture" icon to upload images, and select "all full size" option to load images directly into your thread.

Much easier to compare and scroll through :)

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

kyratango and aaroncab like this.
  4. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

Ahh well.........

're-sold by the buyer under bid for more than 25 times what he paid for it'

There are 50 good reasons for that......

'I bid successfully on a similar vase'

Trying to make up for what you thought was a mistake.....by making another mistake ??

You clearly don't know this area of collecting well enuf to be buying other vases in an attempt to regain the money you thought you lost !
    There's an old saying " your 1st loss is your best loss ! "