Rare gold antique? What it’s meanings for gestures and emblem

Discussion in 'Metalware' started by Jake Australia, Aug 17, 2019.

1. Anyone know the history or meaning of this gold Buddha

2. i need help

i need help Moderator Moderator

3. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

4. daveydempsey

daveydempsey Moderator Moderator

@Jake Australia

Jake, welcome.

There is no need to keep making posts about this Buddha.
    I have deleted two repeat posts and one were you are attempting to sell it.
    Keep to the original post and await replies.

5. Ok no problems my apoligies about the posts im new to all this and am not sure how it all works

Thank you for your assistance

6. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Hello and welcome Jake.
    It is a little stunner, beautiful!
    The photos are a bit small, could you post closeups? Also of the round symbol on his chest please.

From what I see it is the Buddha as a monk, sage and teacher, but he also seems to have a cover over his topknot which looks like an Ushnisha, a small symbol of royalty. The Buddha was born as a royal prince.
    He is seated on a lotus throne, symbol of purity and enlightenment. His left hand looks like it is in the gesture of teaching. His right hand holds a monk's begging bowl and prayer beads.
    The symbol on the base is the Vishvavajra. That shows that he is connected with Vajrayana Buddhism.
    The Vishvavajra is one of the most powerful symbols in Vajrayana Buddhism, it stands for the four winds and the powers that created the physical unverse. It also ensures harmony between all sides and between the worldly and the spiritual.

Vajrayana Buddhism is practised in different parts of mainland Asia, the best known being the Himalayan region. It used to be practised in parts of Indonesia and the Philippines as well.
    I need a bit more info to be able to say more on the possible origin of this beauty. I already replied to your convo, see you inbox top right of the page.