Recommendations for testing kits, please?

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by Melissa Brown, Jun 3, 2017.

1. Melissa Brown

Melissa Brown Well-Known Member

I'm new to playing with jewelry. I inherited piles of jewelry, mostly good costume, but some nicer, that I'd like to do preliminary tests on so I don't overwhelm a real jeweler.

I see many of you talking about gold/silver and stone testing. May I get your recommendations for testers/kits for both? I tend to buy better than I need. I'm looking for tools that are reliable but affordable.

Thanks!

KingofThings likes this.
  2. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

I always look for the cheapest option:D.
    I use a regular silver and gold testing set, make sure you buy one with a testing stone (touchstone), that is what you rub the metal on. Always try to find a hidden part of the jewellery you want to test, the back or something. Never put the liquid directly onto the metal.
    The sets come with one bottle for silver, the liquid reacts in a different colour to every different fineness of silver. For gold there are different bottles for different carats/karats. There is one for platinum.
    Remember, these liquids are acid. The platinum one in particular can really sting if it touches your bare skin.
    For gemstones I use a diamond tester, they usually also test other stones. You need one with different lights for the different hardnesses. In the ad you will see green to red lights. Mine also makes sounds. They come with a chart, and instructions of course.
    These are the lights I mean:
    [​IMG]

Good luck!

3. tyeldom3

tyeldom3 Well-Known Member

Hi Any Jewelry, sorry to but in here, but I have that same diamond tester that you pictured. How do I use that for gemstones?

judy and Melissa Brown like this.
  4. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

1st...you have to get gemstones.....
    2nd...send them all here & I'll figure out the rest for you....