Featured Reverse painting on glass my Fop-aux!

Discussion in 'Art' started by Slykitty65, Aug 27, 2019.

1. Slykitty65

Slykitty65 Active Member

I did a big fop-aux while cleaning a vintage "Verre eglomise" which is a cold painting process with gold gilt reverse painted, sealed with a steamed varnish. The process was perfected by French decorator Jean Baptist Glomy (1711-1786) who sold his simple framed prints under glass with this technique across Europe through art distributors.

I want to caution others to be warry of working with frames which have nails that went into the frame crooked or look off-center... they most likely did not fit or were replaced with a wrong size during the artworks life. Now I am left with the vintage print without its artist reverse painted design on the frame's glass.

Being an artist I could get new glass cut and do the design but do not know how to do the steam varnish, plus the art then becomes a married (new/vintage) piece of artwork. Thankfully it was not an expensive piece and was made for the common household to enjoy nature designs such as this print. I estimate this one was done in his style because it does have the steamed varnish process that can be seen on the reverse side. IMG_5860.JPG I have seen similar prints of this European Goldfinch on a thistle that was popular in the early 1930s. The photo was taken before I tried putting the frame back together but shows the gold gilt and black cage lines of the inside glass. First time I have ever broken the glass of a frame and it would be part of the art.

The frame broke when I pulled a crooked nail from the frame and gently tapped it down in place... cracking the corner of the glass! Next time, I will either use a framer or make sure to replace the nail in a new hole maybe?

2. Christmasjoy

Christmasjoy Well-Known Member

So sad this happened to you Slykitty, I feel the pain when one inadvertently breaks something that they are trying to repair, Joy.