Right lets start again.... Hi Pleased to meet you all

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Richard Porter, Nov 8, 2017.

1. Richard Porter

Richard Porter Active Member

My Name is Richard and I am from Yorkshire. I have been collecting antiques for about four years from antique fairs mainly but also from private sellers. We started off collecting paperweights ( mainly Scottish ) but we do have one or two more unusual ones. We then moved on to our great love which are Netsuke. Its a minefield out there when it comes to these objects and we made one or two silly buys. I am glad to say I now own pretty much every reference book out there regarding Netsuke including the two volumes of Lazarnick which are the bible when it comes to collecting. We both also love Art Deco and have several Bronzes which I am happy to post pictures of if anyone is interested. The most recent purchase and one of my all time favourites is the alabaster Art Deco Italian Nude which I find myself smiling at every time I pass. I am more than happy to help anyone with opinions regarding Netsuke as I am starting to build a fair bit of knowledge in this area, Cant read Japanese yet !!!

Thanks for accepting me into the group. I hope I can offer some input and become a valued member

Richard

2. AJefferson

AJefferson Well-Known Member

Been there, done that quite a few times.

Welcome Richard.:)

3. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum, Richard.
    Silly buys are part of learning, I think we have all been there.

I collected netsuke in the 70s and 80s, but stopped after I closed my Asian antiques shop due to health issues. I still have some lovely ones, including a signed ivory baku by Tomokazu, my favourite.
    Since our Japanese memebers have gone awol, we are looking for someone who can read Japanese, so if you ever feel like taking a course.....;)

4. quirkygirl

quirkygirl likes pretty old things

Greetings, Richard! :) Welcome to the forum!