Featured Royal Stanley Ware (Jacobean) Collection

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by Jim Huziak, Oct 7, 2016.

1. Jim Huziak

Jim Huziak New Member

My wife and I are the official keepers, on behalf of the estate of a friend, of what we believe to be the largest collection of Royal Stanley Jacobean Pottery in existence. Royal Stanley pottery originated in Stoke-on-Trent in the UK in the early twentieth century, with the last pieces made in 1929. Two hundred and thirty-something pieces currently co-reside in our house on the prairies of Saskatchewan, Canada.

Our friend was an educator by profession and antique, glass and pottery collector on the side. Unlike the other collectibles, the 'Stanley' was never intended to be sold; the idea was to make the collection a source of information on a little known clay ware which was just beginning to be appreciated. Toward that end, we began photographing the pieces for a dedicated web site (RoyalStanleyWare.gallery). Unfortunately, our friend passed away suddenly, shortly after the initial site went on line.

After her passing, the antiques and glass were dispersed in estate sales, but the Royal Stanley was held back.

We believe the value of the Stanley is the collection rather than the individual pieces, so rather than sell it off piecemeal on eBay etal, we have been contacting museums, galleries and art institutions, trying to come up with the possible options to breaking the collection up. Our best suggestions have not been from the Gardiner Museum in Toronto or the Victoria and Albert in London, but from individual dealers and collectors. One of the best came from a clown (a real one).

This is why we've come here. We have a collection that we would prefer to preserve, and are looking for ideas from others who may have some insight into dealing with collections of their own.

We hope you can take a few minutes to browse through the web site; any comments and all suggestions will be welcomed. :)