Featured Ship engraved wardrobe - ideas of period and value?

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by Nina Rann, Feb 10, 2020.

1. Nina Rann

Nina Rann New Member

I saved this wardrobe from being scrapped last year with the intention to up-cycle it. Before I start sanding and painting it I’d like to know if it has any major value and what period it might be from? There are no markings on it as far as I can see and I’m not very good at guessing what wood it’s made from - but it is solid. Inside it has a mirror, small metal shelf, large wooden shelf and clothes rail.
    Any feedback would be much appreciated

Attached Files:

2. johnnycb09

johnnycb09 Well-Known Member

What a cool piece . Just guessing,but I think 1920s or so . Can we see the inside ? Im thinking maybe a locker for a school or something ,but a veddy fancy one .

3. Michael77

Michael77 Well-Known Member

Hi Nina, That's a nice piece you have there! I would say oak for wood. It would be a shame to paint it. I'll leave it to the pros to help with age. I'm sure they will want to more pictures.

Christmasjoy, judy and Pat P like this.
  4. Drew

Drew Well-Known Member

Agree, 1920s. The image of a Spanish Galleon was very popular ship in the 20's. Cast iron door stops & bookends also all the rage....

5. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

Nina, none of my business to tell you what to do but... If your wardrobe is in good condition, it would just be best left alone. Charming as is. Know brown wood not fashionable at moment but, as all women know, fashions come and go and some we regret. Just my opinion.

Debora

6. patd8643

patd8643 Well-Known Member

Agree with Debora - too pretty to paint.

7. verybrad

verybrad Well-Known Member

Didn't we have one of these recently? Gentleman's wardrobe, English oak circa 1920. Arts and crafts influence. IMHO, it would be criminal to paint this. Minimum value $250.00 and some people would pay quite a bit more.