Slightly puzzling - possibly fake potshappel (?) vase

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by Boring Mysteries, May 7, 2023.

1. Today I have a mystery that I think I have mostly solved myself - after an afternoon of combing through photos of numerous different makers' marks/signatures for porcelain. Still, I wanted to see what you guys think...

First of all I have to apologize for the lack of/quality of my photos of the item. They were taken while I was away in England and sorting through many things, I really just snapped them quickly as a sort of afterthought but it wasn't until I got home and examined the mark that I became more curious. Had I known I'd get fixated I would have taken more detailed pics...

Anyway, it's a flower encrusted vase that I assumed was British or German or at the very least in a German style.

IMG_5157.jpg IMG_5158.jpg IMG_5159.jpg

I'm really an amateur when it comes to ceramics etc. so it took a while for me to figure out what that mark *could* be. At one point I had considered it could be Japanese, or Danish...mainly because I questioned whether my initial impression of it showing a fish and a letter T could be wrong. But it does - and that is a signature of Carl Thieme. I'll now attach examples I found online of this signature mark.

phoca_thumb_l_thieme_fish_t_mark.jpg
    1542596454_fullsize.jpg
    Screenshot 2023-05-07 at 19-31-53 Decorative Basket in Porcelain.png
    The final one bears the most resemblance and finally settled at least part of the question for me, but I really think it seems unlikely to be an authentic piece...why such a sloppy signature? Anyway, I know the mark is certainly meant to be the T-with-fish signature. The question is whether that would have been faked/reproduced. It just looks different to me. What do you think?

Potteryplease likes this.
  2. Bronwen

Bronwen Well-Known Member