Song ginger jars?

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by Ann99, Dec 11, 2019.

1. Ann99

Ann99 New Member

Hello,

I hope someone here can help me with these two ginger jars - they are meant to be a gift for my friend, but I have very little knowledge og stoneware and pottery.

Both are stated to be from the Song dynasty, the latter said to be found at an
    excavation in San Pablo. The first is from a shipwreck?

They are priced at 150 euro and 130 euro, so I can only afford one of them.. Which is why I would like to hear if the prices are reasonable, and if there is any chance they aren't authentic? This is very much of out my own field - and the only person I know, who has knowledge of pottery, is my friend. And I don't want to spoil my gift for him :-(

Thanks a lot for the help beforehand.

Shipwreck
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

San Pablo
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Best regards
    Ann

Any Jewelry likes this.
  2. Bronwen

Bronwen Well-Known Member

Welcome, Ann. There is so much fraud in this sort of thing, if you cannot get a really expert opinion in time, you do better finding something else for your friend. Who is selling them? Auction house? They can be wrong too as they most often accept whatever consignor tells them about an item? Private individual? EBay or other on line sales site?

What are the seal & tag on the first one meant to mean? Language on tag looks like one from South Asia. If so, big warning sign.

sabre123 and Bakersgma like this.
  3. KikoBlueEyes

KikoBlueEyes Well-Known Member

Welcome. If I were you, I wouldn't fork out the money on something that you have no knowledge about and with iffy provenance. I understand the joy of giving something special to a friend, but I don't know what ship wreck this might be where the piece has no marine encrustations after than amount of time.

4. Bronwen