Strange Boy & Girl Figural Metal Candlesticks?

Discussion in 'Metalware' started by Jessica789;0, Jan 30, 2019.

1. Jessica789;0

Jessica789;0 Member

Hoping someone may be able to help me please with these figural candlesticks. I'm not good with my metalware, and I don't really know anything about them at all.

I'm wondering what sort of age they are, what kind of metal, maker or region. Any help will be appreciated.

The boy is curious is it some sort of known character? What's that weird looking demon thing on top of his hobo stick case?

The girl is rather disfigured and in rather bad condition. She may be another character related to the boy? I don't know.

So yeah I'm pretty clueless on these, so thanks in advance for any help :)

-----
    The boy:
    1.jpg 3.jpg 20171101_121500.jpg 20171101_121750.jpg 20171101_121557.jpg 20171101_121659.jpg 20171101_121815.jpg

Last edited: Jan 30, 2019
    kyratango likes this.
  2. Jessica789;0

Jessica789;0 Member

3. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

The case looks like a small drum, and the demon thing is probably a monkey that dances to his drumming.

4. Jessica789;0

Jessica789;0 Member

So maybe a travelling circus boy. I've not thought of a monkey before, I guess it looks a bit like a little monkey :)

5. Any Jewelry

Or just a little boy who made a living in one single town. Both children are wearing shoes, which is a good sign. (Just thinking of their well-being.)

6. Figtree3

Figtree3 What would you do if you weren't afraid?

It looks like a monkey to me, too, especially in the close up photo. Very unusual candlesticks!

7. silverthwait

silverthwait Well-Known Member

If those "candlesticks" were on my dining room table, I'd lose my dinner! That female critter was (as a dear friend used to say) "whupped with an ugly stick!"

8. Caribou's House

Caribou's House Well-Known Member

Here's a boy with what looks like a monkey. Tagged as French circa 1900 Candlestick.jpg

9. Bronwen