Featured Tavern Table

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by Illielee, Aug 20, 2018.

1. Illielee

Illielee Well-Known Member

An early tavern table with later top. All oak.
    I've seen the lambs tongue stretchers associated with pieces done from the Roubo book, but I haven't seen any plates from the book showing tables. I've seen these types of stretchers on larger tables, but the only one I could find on a tavern table was one made by the Ursaline maker from New Orleans, easily searchable. I'm sure it's not that but was wondering if it was a monastic type of piece. Anyone ID specific age and origins by way of hardware or other characteristics? No rose heads, all pegged.[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

2. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

3. James Conrad

James Conrad Well-Known Member

Guesses English, 1st half 18th century. It doesn't look like a church or monastic piece to me, likely an english side table. Naturally, I have limited knowledge of english furniture, wait for others to post.

Christmasjoy, kyratango and judy like this.
  4. verybrad

verybrad Well-Known Member

Out of my realm of expertise as well but would also think English.

judy, Christmasjoy and James Conrad like this.
  5. Jeff Drum

Jeff Drum Well-Known Member

I agree English, and I'm much more used to looking at American furniture too. That said, the turnings are quite restrained. You know its a later top, so won't bother with that. The drawer bottom isn't at all what I'd expect either, look like it was nailed to the drawer and not panel floating in grooves? Why does it look like finish is applied inside drawer? (Do you think the drawer may be replaced also?) Could you show a pic of the drawer bottom, and of the inside of the drawer front where the pull attaches? Also the whole piece turned upside down with the drawer out to see the unfinished wood?

judy and Christmasjoy like this.
  6. James Conrad