Tea for two. Cups etc. -- probably German (Bavaria?)

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by Hamburger, Mar 20, 2021.

1. Hamburger

Hamburger Absolute Beginner

I'm posting this on the off chance that someone will recognise the pattern or style. Anything at all will help -- it's not possible to know less than I do. ;) Pretty much all that I do know is that these pieces spent most of the past 50 years in southern Germany (Franconia). I wouldn't be at all surprised to learn that they hadn't travelled far.

There are no proper identifying marks. The blotchy gold suggests to me they could be seconds (and therefore unbranded?). Most of the pieces have the number "17" painted/printed/stamped on the bottom, one has "5" instead. Some also have a number stamped into the base: 01728, 01730, 01732. Item numbers?

Thanks for looking and thanks in advance for any insights or ideas!

IMG_6501.JPG IMG_6497.JPG IMG_6498.JPG IMG_6504.JPG

Aquitaine likes this.
  2. Fid

Fid Well-Known Member

3. Hamburger

That could be a helpful step in the right direction, Fid -- thanks!

pearlsnblume likes this.
  4. Boddah

Boddah Active Member

Those numbers is probably the form type.
    I tried searching for your cups using tags like: Kobalt, Teeservice, Mokkaservice, Goldrand, Perlmutt. I could find many similar ones, but not the same. What puzzles me is that there is no marks at all. From my humble experience all the German porcelain is marked (unless it is very old). At least the teapot should be. But I have seen some unmarked cheaper Czech porcelain. Maybe it is the case?

Hamburger likes this.
  5. Hamburger

Thanks, Boddah. I have also tried all those terms (and more) and, so far, got nowhere.

Searching for "Porzellan" and "nur die Nummer 17" got me to an eBay offer for some (quite different) pieces from Krautheim and Adelberg in Selb, so it appears that at least one German firm didn't always mark everything properly.

But yes, it could be Czech.

Boddah likes this.