Featured Thomas Bradbury and Sons Silver Bowl

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Meg Alfoni, Jun 19, 2018.

1. Meg Alfoni

Meg Alfoni New Member

I have this bowl, but can't find anything similar on the web. I think it's Thomas Bradbury and Sons made around 1908. Can someone help me out or direct me to a web site where I might find out more info? Thanks T and Sons bowl small.jpg Tand Sons bowl hallmark small.jpg

judy, Any Jewelry and kyratango like this.
  2. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

What are the dimensions? I don't see anything that would indicate that it had a lid, but perhaps you do?

kyratango likes this.
  3. Meg Alfoni

Meg Alfoni New Member

Sorry, I'm new to this! No lid. The dimensions are approximately 4" tall, and 8.5" wide including the handles. The diameter of the bowl itself is about 6". Thanks for responding

LIbraryLady and judy like this.
  4. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

Perhaps it had an insert so it could hold a floral arrangement?

judy and clutteredcloset49 like this.
  5. i need help

i need help Moderator Moderator

Those are called flying scroll handles, if that helps you to find it.

6. clutteredcloset49

clutteredcloset49 Well-Known Member

judy, Any Jewelry, kyratango and 2 others like this.
  7. i need help

I only learned that term today in looking for this piece. So, we will have to rely on one of us remembering it! Nice find!

judy, kyratango and clutteredcloset49 like this.
  8. silverthwait

silverthwait Well-Known Member

Team it with 'flying butresses.' The scroll part is easy.

Meanwhile, the bowl is gawgess!

9. i need help

Very Nice Find, Meg and Welcome to the Forum! :)

judy and kyratango like this.
  10. Meg Alfoni

Meg Alfoni New Member

Thank you everyone. That's great information. And what a nice reaction to my first post on this site!

11. afantiques

afantiques Well-Known Member