Unique Antique Painting - Any Information??

Discussion in 'Art' started by ClassicallyDriven, May 1, 2020.

1. ClassicallyDriven

ClassicallyDriven New Member

Hi,
    New to this forum but I am a long time collector / hobby dealer specializing in automobilia. I acquired this painting a while ago and hoping that someone here might be able to provide information about how old it is, the artist, etc

The painting features a dog and hawk (or similar bird of prey). The hawk is over a shield with a spear / helmet and the dog appears to be attacking. It is a small piece (approx 4" by 12" and appears to be very finely done. Medium may be egg tempera on thin cardstock type paper (I am not an art expert). This does appear to have some age to it

I would really appreciate any insights and would love to learn more about it!

- Mike

1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg 4.jpg 5.jpg 6.jpg

kyratango likes this.
  2. aaroncab

aaroncab in veritate victoria

The spear, shield, helmet, and eagle all look perhaps...Roman?

EDIT - the painting also contains another roman symbol, the fasces.

https://www.ancient.eu/Fasces/

Last edited: May 1, 2020
  3. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

The fasces is a Roman symbol but has been used by other cultures. It's associated with Fascism (to which it gave its name) but it's also a symbol of rightful power and authority. Think yours is a symbolic painting where the dog of war have been unleashed to fight unlawful bellicose forces. Or somethin' like that.

Debora

Unknown.jpg

4. ClassicallyDriven

Bronwen likes this.
  5. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

Apologies, Aaron. Didn't read your comments before I posted. Didn't mean to repeat the information you provided.

Debora

kyratango, Bronwen and Christmasjoy like this.
  6. ClassicallyDriven

@Debora Thanks as well! I've already learned so much. It's definitely a symbolic piece and it would be great to know the exact context

kyratango, Bronwen and Christmasjoy like this.
  7. aaroncab