Unusual lamp help to ID please

Discussion in 'Metalware' started by tyeldom3, Sep 2, 2017.

1. tyeldom3

tyeldom3 Well-Known Member

Stands approx. 32" high. No marks found. Metal and the red (ish) parts appear to be cast iron, magnet does stick to the red parts. Any ideas on age or possible maker? Also what type of shades would have been on this? I can't quite figure out if this lamp is considered "Industrial"?, or not. Thanks for your time. I'm taking a quick break from watching the Gator's game, and they are losing:(, so I need to get back to watching......
    1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg 4.jpg 5.jpg 6.jpg 7.jpg 8.jpg

KingofThings and aaroncab like this.
  2. buyingtime777

buyingtime777 Well-Known Member

The wiring and fixtures should narrow a date down if they are original but I am not an expert. I think that the one prong on the plug being wider became standard practice in the 50's and the indication it can take 150 watt bulb would make me think it somewhat modern. The vibe I get is 80's but that is just a guess. I do think with the right shade it could work nicely in Industrial decor.

KingofThings and tyeldom3 like this.
  3. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

I think 1980s too. Post-modern.

Debora

4. buyingtime777

buyingtime777 Well-Known Member

Upon closer examination it looks like someone has added the notes about 150 watts? Are the inside of the bulb receptacles cardboard?

5. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

150 watts times 2 bulbs is a blinding amount of light! :inpain:
    Does the ball at the top unscrew to add a shade?

6. tyeldom3

I just checked and yes there is some type of hard card board type inside. I also found a blue "underwriter laboratories " label that read "Hart Associates " on the bottom of it. So I did some digging and there does appear to be a lamp company by that name.
    Thanks for your help buying time.:)

KingofThings likes this.
  7. tyeldom3

Thanks Debora:)

KingofThings likes this.
  8. tyeldom3