Featured Wedgwood?

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by LPreget, Jul 1, 2020.

1. LPreget

LPreget New Member

Hello,

I am new to Wedgwood and although knowing the name I know nothing about them, I found this partial set in a local charity shop. I brought 1 of the 3 items and have the other 2 on hold.

Before I buy the other peices (although very cheap) I wanted to know if they are real Wedgwood and if so their dating.

A little bit of research told me the marking could come from 1878-1900 although I'm very unsure due to the fading (which seems odd that the mark has faded houwever the patter hasn't)

Any help would be much appreciated
    IMG_7651.JPG IMG_7653.JPG IMG_7652.JPG IMG_7654.JPG
    p.s sorry I forgot to take pictures of the stamp/marks on the 2 peices I left in the charity shop

Mugzinnys, KSW, lloyd249 and 2 others like this.
  2. Bronwen

Bronwen Well-Known Member

I can't really see what profit there would be in forging these. Portland vase without stars is supposed to be what you already know, 1878 - 1900.

pearlsnblume, KSW and lloyd249 like this.
  3. LPreget

LPreget New Member

Thank you, my thoughts exactly. Do you know any way to confirm if these are real or fake?

pearlsnblume and lloyd249 like this.
  4. Bronwen

Bronwen Well-Known Member

The Wedgwood Museum have been very kind in answering questions in the past, but don't know if anyone would be working right now.

http://www.wedgwoodmuseum.org.uk/

bercrystal and lloyd249 like this.
  5. bluumz

bluumz Quite Busy

For that price, it would all be going home with me!

6. stracci

stracci Well-Known Member

Buy this now, ask questions later!
    I wouldn't hesitate for such beautiful pieces.

7. Ownedbybear

Ownedbybear Well-Known Member

Buy them. Absolutely right and a bargain.

8. KSW

KSW Well-Known Member

Randomly I know the answer to this and yes they are!
    Lovely lady answered my questions about an eggcup today. They have just come back off furlough.