What about these carvings?

Discussion in 'Tribal Art' started by kellaurm, Aug 16, 2018.

1. kellaurm

kellaurm Well-Known Member

What do you guys think about these carvings. Type of stone and origins?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

And Second..

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Christmasjoy likes this.
  2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

the 1st looks south.central America..
    the 2nd...an inuit bird...

3. kellaurm

kellaurm Well-Known Member

Thanks, do you think the first one is more of a modern carving. Do you have any ideas about the stone? It is 9 inches tall.

judy and Christmasjoy like this.
  4. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member

I'm no expert, but both look recent to me. I'd have figured the bird for Chinese until Komo spoke up.

Christmasjoy likes this.
  5. 2manybooks

2manybooks Well-Known Member

I agree with komokwa. The second looks like Inuit ("Eskimo"), usually carved from steatite (soapstone). The first one looks like it is trying to be Mesoamerican (Mexican or Guatemalan), in which case the stone may be steatite, serpentine or, less likely, nephrite (jade). All occur in shades of green that were sought after. Steatite is softest, serpentine next, and nephrite hardest, but without a hardness or density test it might be hard to distinguish between them. Do you have a college or university nearby with a geologist? I suspect the Mesoamerican piece was made for the tourist trade, in which case they would have chosen a softer stone, quick and easy to carve.

Just for completeness sake, I should add that jadeite was also used in Mesoamerica. Jadeite and nephrite are slightly different in their mineralogy, but both are commonly referred to as jade.

Last edited: Aug 16, 2018
    judy and Christmasjoy like this.
  6. springfld.arsenal

springfld.arsenal Store: http://www.springfieldarsenal.net/

I’m a statuary ignoramus, truly, but IMO neither piece reflects either artistic skill or good craftsmanship. So, paperweights.