What did I buy? Old and large embroidery.

Discussion in 'Textiles, Needle Arts, Clothing' started by chantaljones, Apr 20, 2021.

1. chantaljones

chantaljones Well-Known Member

Bought this today in a second hand store. I don't know what it is or what it was used for.

But I thought if somebody spend so much money to get it framed than it must be worth something?

Its massive (2.5 x 1.5 meter).

I tried to research it but no luck as I have no experience with embroideries. Can somebody help and point me to the right direction so that I can gather more info about it. Thank you

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

moreotherstuff and TraceyB like this.
  2. Branka

Branka Well-Known Member

Wild guess, baby blanket? I’m old lady still have mine :shy:
    Wait, 2 meters, that’s not for babies ☺️

moreotherstuff and chantaljones like this.
  3. Branka

Branka Well-Known Member

It’s unusual that is not one large piece of fabric, I can see being sawn to joint two. Is the stitching in the middle? Does green embroidery looks like Christmas tree?

4. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

Fabric it is, but embroidery it does not appear to be.

5. Branka

Branka Well-Known Member

Probably emotional connection, a memory.

6. Branka

Branka Well-Known Member

Usually we try to have one large piece to embroidered on. Some PCs I seen from my grandma that were joined together ware due to saving the fabric and minimize the waste.

7. Branka

Branka Well-Known Member

60”x98” it’s like queen size bed.

8. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

Can we see how the reverse side is joined at seam? Strange that it's in narrow strips.

9. chantaljones

chantaljones Well-Known Member

Yes I also noticed this. It is made from several pieces which are joint together.

I was thinking it could have been a bedding bed sheet cover.