Featured Writing Slope manufactured by Toulmin & Gale. Ca. 1862.

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by Shangas, Dec 6, 2014.

1. Shangas

Shangas Underage Antiques Collector and Historian

Apart from granny's silver Straits Chinese belts, one of the most valuable things I've ever found, and wanted, is an antique writing slope. I'm a writer at heart (and by profession), and having one of these things has been an ambition of mine, almost since birth!

A few years ago, I finally managed to buy a writing slope in absolutely amazing condition!

Here's a photographic tour of the box and some information about it, and its manufacturer...

I purchased this from an antiques shop in Portobello Road, London, while I was there on holiday back around ca. 2010. Price paid was 130 pounds sterling. And for that money, I got this:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG] [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    This advertisement (dated 1864), gave me a rough date of manufacture. You can see my box on the bottom left :)

Anyone who's ever seen one of these, collects them, has one, uses one, will know how rare these things are, how expensive they are, and just how hard they are to find in working condition.

Last edited: Dec 7, 2014
  2. quirkygirl

quirkygirl likes pretty old things

Wow, Shangas ... that is gorgeous!!! Your photos are pretty wonderful too!

3. Shangas

Thanks QuirkyGirl.

In case anyone's wondering, Toulmin & Gale survived from 1735-1876. It went bankrupt in 1876. But before then, it manufactured dressing-cases, writing slopes, vesta-cases, travelling inkwells, games compendiums, tantaluses, and God knows what else!! They really turned their hand to everything they could think of.

T&G had a contract with the British Army to supply them with stuff like dressing cases and writing cases.