Featured Antique Lamp? Beautiful, looks to be ceramic and iron

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by Sassy, Sep 1, 2017.

1. Sassy

Sassy Well-Known Member

antique lamp.jpg antique lamp 2.jpg antique lamp close up of detailing.jpg antique lamp frame.jpg antique lamp frame back.jpg Hi guys,

I'm brand new to antiquing so forgive my ignorance.

My husband and I just nabbed this antique lamp at an auction for $3. I think it is beautiful!

It has a marking on the bottom saying HK MONIF 645 Madison Ave, New York.

I have been unable to find anything about this other than this address is tied to a 13th century Syrian antique for sale in France. Perhaps HK Monif was an auction house?

I'm very interested in knowing more about this lamp, what decade its from, where was it from, etc etc. I want to find a lamp shade for it but no idea what would "match".

Unfortunately it looks like it was broken and put together again. I'm going to be cleaning it gently and taking some more photos but I'm so eager to know more I couldn't wait to post lol!

Any idea how I can find out more about this beauty?

*Editted to remove some of the terrible dark pictures I took last night and replace with slightly better photos. Thanks, sun!*

Last edited: Sep 1, 2017
  2. SBSVC

SBSVC Well-Known Member

Hi, Sassy, and welcome!

A quick Google search seems to indicate that H.K. Monif (H. Kahn Monif) had a gallery in NYC, and quite a nice one, at that! It looks as if he died in 1968.

3. Sassy

Sassy Well-Known Member

That is amazing, how did you find that? I tried all my google-fu and could only find the tidbit about another antique in France from here.

So... and pardon my ignorance... this would mean that this piece was originally from elsewhere and Monif would have been a reseller?

4. moreotherstuff

moreotherstuff Izorizent