Featured Chinese Vase - Opinions Please !!!!

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by 15Stiftgasse, Jan 14, 2022.

1. 15Stiftgasse

15Stiftgasse Well-Known Member

Hello.
    I've come across this crackle glazed Chinese vase, standing c.28cm high and bearing a Chenghua-type seal - and am seriously considering buying it.
    It looks okay to me, especially the base but as a relative novice, I've still got a morbid fear of splashing out on what turns out to be yet another repo.

An approximate fair purchase value would also be gratefully appreciated.

Sorry for the less-than-perfect pics, but they are all I have at the moment.

Therefore, I'd be grateful for any help or opinion of the better experienced members.

Many, many thanks !

308_-1376001919.jpg 308_1552805173.jpg 308_-773725911.jpg 308_64022534.jpg 308_-1457066332.jpg 308_-31592302.jpg

916Bulldogs123, judy and dude like this.
  2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

I run away from crazing that looks so obviously forced.....
    no age to speak of.....
    imo...

u should pick up a book or two to help train your eye for what to look for ...;);):)

3. 15Stiftgasse

Sorry! I was hoping that it might be Guangxu/Republic Period with an apocryphal Chenghua mark. Am I right in assuming that you reckon that it is a late C20th copy ?

judy likes this.
  4. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

let's hear what others have to say.....I'm not a pottie by nature..:oops::oops:

judy and 15Stiftgasse like this.
  5. 916Bulldogs123

916Bulldogs123 Well-Known Member

15Stiftgasse likes this.
  6. Ce BCA

Ce BCA Well-Known Member

Very difficult to say without handling. I haven't seen many brand new reproductions of these, I would say it is either early 20th or a very recent and well done reproduction. It doesn't look like one of the post war sloppy examples.

7. 15Stiftgasse

Thank you very much indeed, BCA.
    Am much obliged for your opinion !

judy likes this.
  8. Francisco G Kempton