Featured Lion(?) Face Chair Help?

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by EmilieRCincy, Feb 25, 2021.

1. EmilieRCincy

EmilieRCincy New Member

Hello!

This is my first time posting, I'm hoping that maybe you smart folks will be able to help me better understand this chair I've inherited from my grandparents.

It was left in the home my great-grandparents bought in the 1930s/1940s by the previous owners. They lived around Waupun, Wisconsin.

The design appears to be pressed, it has red glass eyes. The seat seems to be put together with a biscuit/plate joint, but the arms and some of the leg spindles are joined with screws. No markings or papers of any kind.

Don't read too much into the seat, I just caned that (my Grandma says it was caned when she got it from her in-laws, but the seat was failing so she had taken it off and created a cushion for it).

Any ideas or information you can share with me at all are super appreciated! I keep looking at different pictures online and can't find anything quite like it - so even just knowing what terms to search for the style of arms/legs/back would be great.

Thanks! IMG_1896.jpg IMG_1914.jpg IMG_1912.jpg IMG_1913.jpg IMG_1895.jpg

Last edited: Feb 25, 2021
  2. Ownedbybear

Ownedbybear Well-Known Member

Nice job on that caning. It's not cheap to do, either. If I saw it here in the UK, I'd think late nineteenth.

3. Ghopper1924

Ghopper1924 Well-Known Member

Hi @EmilieRCincy

You've got a nice pressed back refinished oak rocker ca. 1900-1910. I like the lion with red eyes pressed into the top rail. Sadly, rockers have taken a big hit during the brown furniture recession of the past several decades, and this one would probably go for less than $100 at any U.S. auction. Without a label of any sort it will be virtually impossible to say who made this, although with a Wisconsin location it may well have been made in neighboring Michigan, the capital of U.S. furniture manufacturing back then.