Featured Advice on finding antique journals?

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by Cara Lyn, May 2, 2021.

1. Cara Lyn

Cara Lyn Member

Hi everyone! I've been antiquing for close to four years now and mainly collect things like photographs, letters, magazines, and, if I'm lucky, journals. I only have one diary that I've acquired over the years, and that was by mere chance. I was wondering if anyone here would have any advice on where to find antique diaries and journals online or in the real world. I haven't had the chance to go to any estate sales either, so I was also wondering how to find some? Thanks for your help!

2. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

eBay.

Debora

pearlsnblume likes this.
  3. Dan R

Dan R Member

Hi Cara,

I'm a new member here, but I thought I'd throw my hat into the ring on this one.

Ebay is a good place to start looking, you can set up searches to automatically notify you of new journals as it's quite specific - I can't imagine there will be too many of them cropping up, so having a tool to the leg work for you is how I look at it.

Also, car boot sales - look for the sellers who have done house clearances and have piles of old books and documents; rummage through the boxes...all the way to the bottom.

Hard to find stuff, but actively looking in the right places will work out for you in the long run.

4. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

Good advice above. And I might add... As with any collecting interest, scarcity can make it more worthwhile.

Debora

pearlsnblume, NewEngland and Dan R like this.
  5. NewEngland

NewEngland Well-Known Member

It's a long shot, but maybe post what you're interested in on Craigslist or Facebook Marketplace? There could be people storing boxes of old diaries and photos that they would love to get rid of.

Cara Lyn and pearlsnblume like this.
  6. Natasha

Natasha Well-Known Member