Featured Ancient silver mine

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Marco Tizzoni, May 14, 2021.

1. Marco Tizzoni

Marco Tizzoni Member

Hello,
    I am a researcher in early and antique metal mining. So I am afraid my contribution to this firum would be only about silver ores and their smelting.
    Anyhow my hobby is collecting objects related to mining activities.
    Recently I bought the silver miniature model of a mine. I had thought it was a Hanau copy of the late 19th, early 20th century, but I was not able to find any Hanau mark similar to those on the item I bought.
    Now would you be so kind to let me know something about this item?
    Thank you indeed
    Marco download.png download.png 20210513_075453.jpg 20210513_075453.jpg

Lilly_Ann, elarnia, Bronwen and 12 others like this.
  2. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

bercrystal, elarnia, Bronwen and 11 others like this.
  3. KikoBlueEyes

KikoBlueEyes Well-Known Member

Fascinating piece. Welcome.

Bronwen, KSW, komokwa and 2 others like this.
  4. Hamburger

Hamburger Absolute Beginner

Welcome -- and wow. Want. ;)

How large is this piece, Marco? Also, I'm sure I'm not the only one who'd be interested in more detailed photos...) ;) ;) .

Last edited: May 14, 2021
    bercrystal, Bronwen, KSW and 2 others like this.
  5. Aquitaine

Aquitaine Is What It IS! But NEVER BORED!

THAT'S really NICE!!!! And might want to move it out of Introductions????
    @i need help ALSO, @Marco Tizzoni, WELCOME to ANTIQUERS!!!:happy::happy:

Bronwen, KSW, komokwa and 3 others like this.
  6. i need help

i need help Moderator Moderator

Moved to Silver.

Bronwen, KSW, komokwa and 3 others like this.
  7. Marco Tizzoni

Marco Tizzoni Member

Hi,
    thank you a lot for your answers. The item measures 28 x 15 x 20 cm.
    The miners' clothings are not quite correct, that is what made me think it was not a 16th or 17th cent. silver (for example see the 1556 Schwazer Bergbuch). Anyhow it was a rather unusual silver.