Arrow head?

Discussion in 'Tools' started by Estaterestate, Oct 17, 2021.

1. Estaterestate

Estaterestate Well-Known Member

F6BD1A0B-C7F1-440C-8687-097803FC1D8B.jpeg 51E3486C-739E-4194-8FEC-9D318EAB9674.jpeg How long this in box of jewelry But looks too specifically shaved to be jewelry looks more like some sort of arrowhead or Flint. Any ideas? This is my first time posting in this form so any help would appreciated

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 17, 2021
    LauraGarnet02 likes this.
  2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

Chert?

wiscbirddog likes this.
  3. Boland

Boland Well-Known Member

What is the size of this? Don’t known about the possible age of this. But if you are thinking arrowhead or spearhead then I would think more cutting or skinning tool.. Hopefully someone will know the rock type..

LauraGarnet02 and Any Jewelry like this.
  4. Houseful

Houseful Well-Known Member

Size would be important to determine use, does it fit comfortably into the hand for instance?

LauraGarnet02 and Boland like this.
  5. Boland

Boland Well-Known Member

Agreed

Houseful likes this.
  6. Estaterestate

DE2C7093-CB65-4AB7-85CA-71B4C426F6C4.jpeg Added penny for comparison

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 17, 2021
  7. sabre123

sabre123 Well-Known Member

Since forum members are from around the world, they may not know what size a penny is. For this reason, it would be helpful to put the measurements in inches/centimeters.

8. wiscbirddog

wiscbirddog Well-Known Member

Is it translucent? Perhaps obsidian?

LauraGarnet02 and Boland like this.
  9. 2manybooks

2manybooks Well-Known Member

10. Taupou

Taupou Well-Known Member

It's a general-purpose Indian scraping tool. It's a little hard to tell, just from a photo, if it's obsidian or flint. Both were used for scrapers, depending primarily on which material was readily available. Both obsidian and flint were trade items, with pieces found a long way from their source.