Featured Asian Vase

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by Shwikman, Aug 14, 2021.

1. Shwikman

Shwikman Well-Known Member

I have zero knowledge about this kind of thing. I did a few quick searches and was pretty overwhelmed with a wide variety of possibilities so I need your help!
    The pictures tell the story…it’s about 14” tall.

Thanks Folks!!
    BFFF68A0-9AA4-45A7-8085-FAB80E9AAF4F.jpeg BF54E4D8-1D07-438B-A1A1-622D69D902E1.jpeg BC8CB163-3252-4DFD-88B7-E38054C3BFA5.jpeg 1384DB5C-7D41-435F-860E-523427415F3B.jpeg 8AE7F476-634B-467C-A69D-F069AB17C7BA.jpeg

Ce BCA, Bronwen and LauraGarnet02 like this.
  2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

it's lovely....and looks fairly recent..

LauraGarnet02 and Shwikman like this.
  3. Shwikman

Cool!
    What do you mean by “fairly recent” if you don’t mind my asking?

Thank You!

LauraGarnet02 likes this.
  4. LauraGarnet02

LauraGarnet02 Well-Known Member

Shwikman likes this.
  5. Steven S.

Steven S. Well-Known Member

You have a Japanese Satsuma vase with moriage decoration. Very pretty. Go to ebay and search "satsuma moriage vase." and you'll see many similar in the $50 to $150 range. Early 20th Century. Your vase is likely 1900-1920.

Here's something similar:
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/2744240271...=true&nordt=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557

Since it is signed, you might find the manufacturer by going to Gotheborg.com and looking at the Japanese pottery marks. I have had considerable luck there.
    It is unlikely that knowing the manufacturer matters a lot for this time period and people buying these pieces. They're not rare but they still have value and are collected.

6. Shwikman

Great help folks! I really appreciate it!

7. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

i'm just not seeing that kind of age here.....

the one SS linked to...only states ..vintage...not antique..

but i've been know to be wrong.........:(:(:(..;)

8. Ce BCA

Ce BCA Well-Known Member