Featured Asking for estimate value, and rarity of Majolica jugs

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by Paul Lloyd, Nov 4, 2020.

1. Paul Lloyd

Paul Lloyd Member

Please can anyone help with providing more information on these two majolica pitcher jugs? IMG_20201103_133337.jpg IMG_20201104_230854.jpg I would also appreciate an estimated value of these as well as their rarity. I can't seem to find this colourway anywhere. From what I understand already, Minton done these wheat and leaves jugs in golden yellow and green but nowhere can I find them in this colour. I also can't find the Minton trademark on them. I know the chip on the back side of one the jugs will detract from the value, how much will this affect the estimated value if they are of a certain rarity?

This is my first time on this fantastic forum, I will certainly be using this in the future as an excellent resource of information and advice - thanks in advance for any help!

2. janetpjohn

janetpjohn Well-Known Member

They do have the Minton date mark for 1858; can't help with the colors.

3. Bdigger

Bdigger Well-Known Member

I am not an expert on these......but just looking around this is the feeling I got.......Original Minton Majolica is valuable, but there are a lot of reproductions out there also. Although the ones you show SEEM legit, any Minton I see online with that color Blue are reproductions. A chip will decrease the value about 50% in my experience. Check the diamond (registration mark) on the bottom if possible, that will give you dates of manufacture etc.....There are many sites that will show you the key to deciphering the registration mark. I can't say for sure that they are repro's or not. If real I would guesstimate them at $1500.00 each based on what I see for similar minton
    items (take $750 off the chipped one).