Brass Mortar and Pestle - How old is mine?

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by jojo123, Mar 15, 2021.

1. jojo123

jojo123 New Member

Hello! I found this very heavy brass mortar and pestle at talize in Canada. It has a 9 at the bottom. There are some fine rings going around the inside rim and bottom. There is a little dip on the inside center but not on the outside. It's 4.6" tall and the base is nearly 3" wide. It looks old to me, but i'm no expert. Any ideas?

Here are photos: https://www.pinterest.ca/retroarrayy/brass-mortar-and-pestal/

2. i need help

i need help Moderator Moderator

3. jojo123

jojo123 New Member

I can't figure out how to post pictures, ugh!

4. i need help

5. jojo123

jojo123 New Member

All my images are too large apparently

6. i need help

Email them to yourself as Medium.

7. i need help

8. jojo123

jojo123 New Member

I haven't figured that out yet (I just made an account now). It's a shame they can't be enlarged to see details. Thank you for helping!

i need help likes this.
  9. Shangas

Shangas Underage Antiques Collector and Historian

A few observations:

1. It's lathe-spun (you can see the drill-marks from where it was mounted to the lathe)

2. The mortar & pestle aren't original to each other, and are married. The pestle is a much more bright, yellow golden colour, whereas the mortar is much darker.

3. I think it's actually meant to be a '6' instead of a 9. Mortars were stamped with numbers like this (I have one marked '5') which presumably were some variety of size-indication, although exactly what the sizes were, I'm not sure (I suspect, capacity/volume).