Burled Walnut Slab

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by Drew, Oct 17, 2018.

1. Drew

Drew Well-Known Member

What's the recommended way to finish a burled walnut slab for use as a tabletop ? Sandpaper grit, type of oil, etc. ? What did the high end crafts people like George Nakashima do for their finishing technique ?

Christmasjoy and judy like this.
  2. gregsglass

gregsglass Well-Known Member

Hi,
    I think I remember that Nikishima used pure tung oil on his pieces. I have been using tung oil on my pieces since the 1960s. Not the synthetic tung oil but the real deal. It has never given me a problem nor changed color. The synthetic stuff turned a table top an orange shade I had to remove.
    greg

Christmasjoy, i need help and judy like this.
  3. James Conrad

James Conrad Well-Known Member

It depends on what the table top is used for i'd say. I bought a walnut slab to replace a QA walnut highboy base top that had a pine top, 27" wide by about 6' long. Since i was using it as a server in kitchen i wanted a tough finish, restorer used varnish, not sure if he used oil or water base
    slab i used
    slab walnut.jpg

i need help and judy like this.
  4. James Conrad

Here is QA base that the above slab was installed on, about 1760, NY or RI. I liked this piece because it was a nice example of the "neat & plain" style popular in the 18th century plus, it had it's original hardware/brass pulls.

QA server.jpg

5. Drew

Drew Well-Known Member

Great idea for the QA base James. . . creating a one piece lovely walnut top.

6. Iowa Jayhawk

Iowa Jayhawk Well-Known Member

The real deal tung oil is my weapon of choice as well.

judy and Christmasjoy like this.
  7. James Conrad