Featured Carved Wood Wall Panel

Discussion in 'Tribal Art' started by StaceyFinds, Oct 16, 2022.

1. StaceyFinds

StaceyFinds Active Member

Hello,

I found this wall panel yesterday. I just thought it was really cool. Does anyone have any knowledge of where it could be from and who it may represent? Is it a tourist piece? Is it African or from South Asia? Is that a diety? Also, I was wondering if those were monkeys at her feet or little demons? I have no knowledge about this type of thing. Measures 38.25” tall and 11.25” wide.

Thanks for any info!

E7E7C278-8170-4FEC-8614-0AA91A0A67C8.jpeg EC1EA1E5-45B0-4E1E-98A3-65C961507E8E.jpeg 297C6347-A81A-4EDC-97EA-13FACA601BB1.jpeg 5F5914AF-25F0-4F34-81D9-A848DA3BB7DD.jpeg 2288FC29-1E67-4DF1-BCB3-081620C5E82B.jpeg

Born2it, lovewrens, komokwa and 2 others like this.
  2. wlwhittier

wlwhittier Well-Known Member

She's a cat-goddess, apparently. With peculiar thumbs.
    The back shows bandsaw (re-sawn) tooth marks, I think.
    Is it painted, or is that the natural color of the material?
    It looks almost like slate.

KikoBlueEyes and StaceyFinds like this.
  3. StaceyFinds

Thanks for your input! I think it may be stained. My husband said those were bandsaw marks too. Definitely wood. What do you think the creatures are that are sitting at her feet?

405689BE-EC66-4ED6-95F4-E920974CCBCB.jpeg

4. Aquitaine

Aquitaine Is What It IS! But NEVER BORED!

I think the "at the feet" creatures, at least in their faces, look suspiciously like small versions of the proverbial "GRINCH", BWDIK!!!!:rolleyes::rolleyes::joyful: BUT what's that little creature the main character's holding in her hand?? HA! Maybe I shouldn't ask! AND how do we figure she's a 'cat person'??

Last edited: Oct 16, 2022
  5. StaceyFinds

They do look like the grinch! :joyful: I didn’t realize she was holding something in her hands. I thought that was just the front of her dress.

6. 2manybooks

2manybooks Well-Known Member

7. StaceyFinds