Featured Cleaning Lave Cameos

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by Detectiveshorty, Mar 12, 2024.

1. Can someone tell me the best method to clean a lava cameo. (One has silver around it , one has gold.) Im new to cameos but I LOVE them and want to take the best care of them i can. TIA
    :)

2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

3. Marote

Marote Well-Known Member

The best way to clean them is to put them, well protected, inside an envelope, close the envelope, write my name and address on the envelope, put stamps on the envelope, and drop the envelope off at the post office :wacky:
    Or...
    you can wait for an alternative solution from the people komo tagged

4. komokwa

Gee, @Marote ...yer fitting right in here , aren't ya !!!!!:hilarious::hilarious::hilarious:

5. Marote

Marote Well-Known Member

:D

6. Bronwen

Bronwen Well-Known Member

Welcome, Detectiveshorty. Komo is right, we need to see the items in question. Lava is difficult/risky to clean because it is porous &, as often as not, dyed. Let's see what we're up against before making recommendations. Photos have to be under 1MB. @komokwa is very good at giving guidance on how to reduce overlarge files.

7. komokwa

For Future reference, when posting images:

Each image MUST be UNDER 1 MB....
    There are instructions on site here on how to reduce the size of your image, if that is the problem......you are allowed up to 10 images per post!!! Here are some links to the instructions:

Try emailing them to yourself as "medium" size, they should then be under 1 MB!

If on the computer:
    https://www.antiquers.com/threads/posting-a-thread-and-uploading-pictures.15990/

If on an iPhone:
    https://www.antiquers.com/threads/resizing-photos-on-i-phone.35097/

And if on an Android phone:
    https://www.antiquers.com/threads/using-an-android-phone-for-pics-on-antiquers.41709/