Complete newbie here - can anyone tell me about these chairs?!

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by Katiegirl81, Jan 3, 2019.

1. Katiegirl81

Katiegirl81 New Member

IMG_6514.JPG Hi everyone, first timer here. I bought these chairs for $10 at a garage sale (in Australia), mainly because they were cheap and we had no furniture, having just arrived back in the country. Now I've just got around to start sanding them and getting more and more curious. Does anyone know how old they might be? What style?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited: Jan 3, 2019
  2. Katiegirl81

Katiegirl81 New Member

IMG_6515.JPG
    IMG_6516.JPG
    Or what kind of wood they might be? They're not heavy.

Lighter patch in centre of the seat is due to me sanding off a large patch of old spilled paint.

Last edited: Jan 3, 2019
    judy and Any Jewelry like this.
  3. Aquitaine

Aquitaine Is What It IS! But NEVER BORED!

Hi and Welcome to Antiquers, @Katiegirl81!!! I can't, but will tag @verybrad, who probably can tell you, as well as others who can.....give it some time!! While you're waiting, if you go back in Edit, and click on the very TOP image of each of your two posts, your images will show up FULL SIZE, instead of thumbnails!!! THANKS!!! Much easier for all to see!:)

4. johnnycb09

johnnycb09 Well-Known Member

I think they are a 1980s-90s version of a Thonet type chair.Possibly for a restaurant. For $10 bucks you got a set of great looking chairs that will last a lifetime. :)

Jivvy, judy, Any Jewelry and 3 others like this.
  5. yourturntoloveit

yourturntoloveit Well-Known Member

Katiegirl, could you do me a favor and measure with a yardstick the following:

Height of seat from the floor

Height of back of chair from the seat

Height of top of armrest from seat

I'm looking forward to seeing the measurements for the chairs.

judy likes this.
  6. yourturntoloveit

Note to Johnnycb09 -- I was thinking perhaps chairs in a "waiting room" of a physician, dentist, etc.