Coral branch and Turquoise chunk necklace…

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by bluumz, Oct 15, 2020.

1. bluumz

bluumz Quite Busy

Picked this up at the thrift today. A close look at the clasp indicates there was probably a third strand originally. The back of the clasp is marked Silver, however it has a brassy gold tone to it. Some of the tiny spacer beads have lost their golden coating.
    Measures 20 inches.
    Now I am no expert but even I feel confident this is true coral. What about the turquoise? Any idea of the age? Origin? Should I do a happy dance despite the missing strand? Or should I take it apart and sell the bits?
    All info welcome, thanks!

0892BFC3-C859-4071-AFD9-1E65C2B6C0C7.jpeg C18D255F-85DF-455E-A703-432681DC6D62.jpeg A6045AB5-6879-4267-9210-0F720F8FD258.jpeg DE746D17-3E7B-43D4-B9E2-F3B5186E01BF.jpeg 28967563-1DEC-4EA9-A349-DBA1610EAA81.jpeg

Last edited: Oct 15, 2020
    stracci and Bronwen like this.
  2. evelyb30

evelyb30 Well-Known Member

It's legit coral and turquoise. The turquoise might be old Chinese or something. The clasp is probably a replacement and there was never a third string. The bead caps look like brass and the "gold" spacers look like they were originally plated. I'd cheerfully sell it as is.

Bronwen likes this.
  3. bluumz

bluumz Quite Busy

Thanks! Any idea on age? And is this considered Native American?

Bronwen likes this.
  4. evelyb30

Wild guess ... 1970s, assuming the clasp was a replacement. Not even close to Native American.

5. bluumz

bluumz Quite Busy

I should’ve said Native American style. I’ve seen it described that way… Or southwestern. I have no idea, really. :bored:

Bronwen likes this.
  6. evelyb30

The turquoise nuggets and coral mixed. Some folks would say Tibetan instead. I was thinking Coldwater Creek.(LOL)

7. reader

reader Well-Known Member

I’d say Chinese and OK to say Southwestern style but absolutely not fine to say NA style.

kyratango, Bronwen and bluumz like this.
  8. Bronwen