Could anyone tell me if this is a new Chinese watercolor and age or artist?

Discussion in 'Art' started by alynnfin, Jan 15, 2023.

1. alynnfin

alynnfin Well-Known Member

This Chinese watercolor looks hand done, but how do I tell if it is or if it is reproduced? I am not an art expert but think it has great detail and the colors are draw your eye to it. The frame, although done a Joanne's, is very heavy wood and they have spent a great deal on matting, so the frame or back of frame won't help any id. The frame measures 60"x36". I also cannot read any Chinese calligraphy. I do not know if this is an antique, I doubt that, but? And any help directing to size to determine value. I got a thrift shop. Thank you so much. IMG_0466__1673809065_70735.jpg IMG_0467__1673809090_38408.jpg IMG_0468__1673809129_84801.jpg IMG_0467__1673809090_38408.jpg IMG_0468__1673809129_84801.jpg Any info would be appreciate.

2. Lark

Lark Well-Known Member

One way would be to look at it with a loop or magnifying glass. It is double matted which can be a good sign in my books. You should see a rough texture and smooth brush strokes. I know they print copies on watercolor paper.

judy likes this.
  3. alynnfin

Thank you. I do see texture in the painting. I do not think I see the bumps of the watercolor paper that I had to look up to see what it is. Don't they get texture in the repros anymore? Could it be a woodcut or something like that? I mean I want original, don't get me wrong. I just want to know for sure or how to research further.

Last edited: Jan 15, 2023
    judy likes this.
  4. mirana

mirana Well-Known Member

This isn't woodblock or an antique style. You could try posting it to the translator subreddit for more info on the caligraphy.

The framing only means that someone really enjoyed it in order to frame it. People frame lots of tourist purchases.

judy likes this.
  5. alynnfin