Featured Grotesque Carved Antique Wooden Mask. Age and Origin, anyone ???

Discussion in 'Tribal Art' started by 15Stiftgasse, Sep 2, 2022.

1. 15Stiftgasse

15Stiftgasse Well-Known Member

Hello !
    In my ongoing hunt for Asian porcelain, I recently came across (and purchased !) this somewhat gruesome carved mask.

It measures about 17 x 12 cm and is carved from a single piece of wood. It was presumably used as a mask, as there are fine slits carved under the 'eyeballs' of the mask.
    I'm no expert, but under a glass, the mask appears to have genuine age to it, as opposed to being a more recent tourist piece. As to origin, I would guess at SE Asia, but as I say, I've really got no idea.

Any help as to origin and age will be most appreciated !!!

P1070752.JPG P1070754.JPG P1070755.JPG P1070756.JPG P1070763.JPG P1070764.JPG

judy, mmarco102, Any Jewelry and 4 others like this.
  2. kyratango

kyratango Bug jewellery addiction!

3. antidiem

antidiem Well-Known Member

It will be best to show more photos of the back.
    From what I can see, I'm not convinced it's antique.

judy, 15Stiftgasse and komokwa like this.
  4. 2manybooks

2manybooks Well-Known Member

Definitely Indonesian, probably depicting Hanuman, the monkey king. Any Jewelry will have more to say.

Boland, judy, 15Stiftgasse and 2 others like this.
  5. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member

Agree re unlikely to be truly antique.

Debora

15Stiftgasse and komokwa like this.
  6. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Beautiful mask, Stiftgasse. It's a yes to Indonesian, from the cultural triad Java, Madura, Bali.
    Wayang topeng, or mask theatre/dance was invented in Madura, but is now performed more in Java and Bali.

As to the character, the absence of an actual nose with nostrils is probably a sign.