Help Identifying Some Porcelain Pottery

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by Coleton, Apr 4, 2019.

1. Coleton

Coleton New Member

So there are two different things I need some help identifying. I’m new to this but trying to learn and was wondering how old these are, what the value might be, etc.

Attached Files:

Any Jewelry likes this.
  2. janetpjohn

janetpjohn Well-Known Member

One looks like studio pottery and the other Korean celadon.

Coleton, Christmasjoy and antidiem like this.
  3. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

Welcome, Coleton.
    The vase is a pretty Korean celadon porcelain vase, as Janet said. Celadon refers to the greenish colour. Looks like the neck was broken and glued back on, which influences the value greatly.

From what I can see of the bits of rim and base you show us of the brown one, it is a Southeast Asian storage vessel. And it looks like it has enough age to make it interesting, that looks like a nice old glaze in a beautiful honey colour.
    The material would be stoneware, not porcelain. Stoneware is fired at a very high temperature and is very durable.
    Western studio pottery draws much of its inspiration from East Asian traditions, which is why there can be some resemblance with studio pottery.

Could you post more photos of the storage vessel, also show us the entire thing so we have an idea what it actually looks like? And please click on 'full image' when you post photos, so everyone can see them.

@Silver Wolf , you may like the SE Asian storage vessel.:)

Last edited: Apr 5, 2019
    i need help and Coleton like this.
  4. Coleton

Coleton New Member

Hi! Thank you for the reply! It was very informative. Yes, the celadon vase was broken and glued back but I had bought it that way a year or two ago at a garage sale for a few dollars. I still liked the look of it so the break wasn’t a huge detractor for me personally.