How does this oil painting come to have artist dates on it?

Discussion in 'Art' started by Gatoblanconz, Oct 12, 2023.

1. Gatoblanconz

Gatoblanconz Well-Known Member

Hi I bought this antique oil painting by H. Oehring 1835-1917.

A couple of things I'm interested to understand.
    The first one is how come it has the artist date of birth and date of death on it does that mean that it was reframed? Or was the plaque added later to the original frame? it looks to me like the frame is quite old the frame looks like it's older than 1917 but I'm not an expert on any of this.

Secondly when was the glass added?
    The paper that was wrapping around the edges of the glass is quite old I have actually removed the glass pane because it looks much better without the glass you can see that it's an actual oil painting and you can see the brush strokes better, plus the glass had dust behind it.
    I don't have any photos of it before I removed the glass.

IMG_20231012_175608_compress52.jpg IMG_20231012_175612_compress76.jpg IMG_20231012_175619_compress79.jpg IMG_20231012_175631_compress79.jpg IMG_20231012_175638_compress31.jpg IMG_20231012_175154_compress7.jpg IMG_20231012_175158_compress2.jpg IMG_20231012_175202_compress84.jpg IMG_20231012_175149_compress97.jpg IMG_20231012_180459_compress33.jpg

mirana likes this.
  2. laura9797

laura9797 Well-Known Member

I don't see any brushstrokes? Are you sure this isn't a print on cardboard? Typically oil paintings were not housed under glass. I have seen it but is certainly isn't the norm. Do you have a loop to see if there is any pixilation?
    As far as the name plate on the frame, anyone can put one of those on. Sometimes it helped the sale of 'copies'.

Any Jewelry likes this.
  3. Mark London

Mark London Well-Known Member

Use a loupe to check for dots

4. Gatoblanconz

@laura9797
    @Mark London