Featured Identify beautiful sugar bowl

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by Kathleen Hooley, Jan 5, 2020.

1. Hi Friends, I recently acquired this piece at an estate sale. I am trying to identify the age and style. I know a bit about silver but I'm not an expert. I have spent a good deal of time researching this piece. The background follows. I believe this to be a sugar bowl or possibly a waste bowl. It has three pieces: cover, bowl and matching tray. It is not marked other than a rudimentary makers mark of DDV. I have researched this mark and have not been able to identify it. I believe that it does not have a sterling or silver plate stamp because it was made prior to the late 19th century when stamps were required by the US. Also, the workmanship is incredible and nothing like I have ever seen. I place it early to mid 1800 sug1.JPG sig7.JPG sug2.JPG sug3.JPG sug4.JPG sug5.JPG sug1.JPG sig7.JPG sug2.JPG sug3.JPG sug4.JPG sug5.JPG but as I've said, I'm no expert.

I've tested the metal content, multiple times using both silver solution and 14k gold solution. I also filed at an inconspicuous spot to make sure that if it was plate, I tested through it. The majority of testing showed that the piece was at least sterling silver. It also looks like silver and has a different color tarnish. Any insights would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much.

janettekay, Any Jewelry, judy and 2 others like this.
  2. I should also add that I sold this on Ebay as sterling silver but the customer sent it back stating that it was heavy silver plate although he did not test it.

judy and kyratango like this.
  3. blooey

blooey Well-Known Member

It looks like a koro (incense burner) and cover with underplate, Japanese or Chinese. I'm leaning more toward it being Chinese. It is very beautiful and I believe the person that returned it was foolish!

It is exactly the type of thing I covet! :wideyed: