Featured Is Your Piece of Art Going to Rot?

Discussion in 'Art' started by Heironymous, May 25, 2017.

1. Heironymous

Heironymous Active Member

Hello all.

I'm just here, spurred by a (maybe-not-so-recent) inquiry about a painting on silk, that was clearly matted & framed with no consideration for archival preservation whatsoever.

To be sure, this probably happened at it's very inception or creation ~ at a time when people didn't widely understand the importance of framing works on paper, silk, etc. with archival intent.

I am all about keeping objet d'art as *true* to their original presentation as possible; but, as an artist myself, who has had many of my own works on paper matted & framed, I can not stress enough the importance of preserving your two-dimensional works properly.

As a buyer of all kinds of stuff, in my junkin' & antiquin', a piece of art that is already showing signs of decomposition, due to the shoddy matting and/or framing, or excessive flocking to the paper, is most often a deal-breaker for me.

As we all know, every *flaw* in any given piece is a detriment to it's value. (Sometimes it's not too-far-gone to pursue restoration & reframing) ~ but if it is too-far-gone, or if it is clear that there is no way to maintain the original integrity of the piece ... with a matt *glued* to the surface or the back *glued* to cardboard, or something of this nature ... you're probably best off not to buy it.

Just a word of cautionary [unsolicited] advice.

By the way, framing services are not "cheap" by any means ~ so you may want to consider the ultimate value of a piece, and what you are willing to invest in it's archival presentation, before you buy it as well.

I'm sure this is a really sophomoric observation to many of you. But I hope it helps others shop wisely.

Have a great day!

2. Heironymous