Featured Jade Lamp?? Who what when.. any advice

Discussion in 'Antique Discussion' started by Andrew N, Oct 26, 2018.

1. Andrew N

Andrew N Member

I recently rescued this item. It seems to be jade, however I am no expert.
    It seems old but sturdy, not cheap or plastic.

Its heavy and cold to the touch, has a few nicks here and there. But otherwise seems ok.
    Nothing broken off.

I am not quite a collector of anything, and by no means any expert. Just recently discovered the passion for older things and histories.

I am not even sure if I should see if it works??

Guessing it might be from china or made to look that way.

No real inscriptions or markings. Except the power plug (levitron) and the actual socket stamped in the bronze part (Benjamin 250V).

I don't know? Is there maybe a hint of history here or is it modern made history?
    Any ideas or speculation would be much appreciated.

Many thanks
    Andrew

IMG_9550.JPG IMG_9551.jpg IMG_9552.JPG

2. i need help

i need help Moderator Moderator

Very nice! Don’t be discouraged if you don’t get a reply right away. People who know about your lamp may not be around right now, so always check back. ;)

3. Aquitaine

Aquitaine Is What It IS! But NEVER BORED!

Hi and WELCOME, Andrew!!! Well, we know he needs a shade and two light bulbs!!!:rolleyes: If the cord doesn't look frayed and looks good, I'd say put some bulbs in, plug it in and give it a shot!! I think he looks neat!!! This is a world-wide site, so there are members coming and going all the time.....someone will be along eventually, right, @Any Jewelry !!!

4. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

a nice rescue....older fixture....
    we need to see the base....bottom.....and know if you can take it apart from the gentleman...

5. clutteredcloset49

clutteredcloset49 Well-Known Member

If adding pictures, please show the cord and plug.

Lamps are not always easy to id.