Let's see...

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by LauraB, Jul 23, 2017.

1. LauraB

LauraB Member

Mostly love jewelry (especially vintage sterling) and books (especially older medical guides, illustrated children's books, strange and unusual subjects) and older maps (local ones from the 40's and 50's that show old roads no longer used) and *anything* I have no clue what-it-is. I have a large collection of "what's its?" Mostly I love finding things that speak of a different era, speak of quality and craftsmanship and speak of lovely design. I've been accumulating stuff for more than 25 years.

Sigh. Can't give any of it up. So...I'm a collector. Not a dealer.

I grew up with a rock hound for a father and we spent our weekends doing three things: hunting for rocks, digging up ghost towns, enjoying the great outdoors. At that time, it was OK to dig up ghost towns, I promise. We never messed with the structures. Just found where the dump and the outhouse were and started digging. Amazing what you could find under remnants of an outhouse. Now, of course, archeologists do that. Yes, we have an archeologist in the family now. One of my daughters. Another daughter is in (take a guess) the jewelry business. The other daughter is a biologist who makes a living camping and backpacking in the great outdoors doing field research. The apple doesn't fall far from the tree, I guess. My 96 year old father loves to go estate saling and garage saling, the only kind of treasure hunting he can do now, so I take him every other weekend.

I can see great knowledge here! Love it! And desire to help people of all kinds! Love it!

2. KingofThings

KingofThings 'Illiteracy is a terrible thing to waist' - MHH

Welcome! :)
    Where are/were the ghost towns?

Christmasjoy and Joshua Brown like this.
  3. LauraB

LauraB Member

Thank you, KingofThings! All in the northwest, mostly...Idaho, Montana, Wyoming...some in Colorado and Nevada.

4. KingofThings

Which in Nevada?