Featured little modern jade? fish pendant

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by charlie cheswick, Dec 2, 2023.

1. charlie cheswick

charlie cheswick Well-Known Member

hi folks

something else i found in a charity shop a while ago, doubt its worth very much and made yesterday, but wondering if it looks like it is jade or junk before trying to sell it

thanks

fish16.jpg fish15.jpg fish20.jpg fish21.jpg fish10.jpg fish5.jpg

2. gckimm

gckimm Active Member

Hi:

Jade is very important in Chinese culture. While I am by no means an expert, I have had a lifetime of seeing valuable jade pieces owned and talked about by members of my family.

Here you can tell that both the stone and the carving do not look very refined. In addition, I will pass on a tip from my own mother: pay attention to how jade jewelry is displayed. Valuable jade will be usually be accompanied by something valuable, e.g., a good piece of jade will be set with 24 kt. gold rather than some gold-plated or gold-colored metal. If a piece of jade is hanging from a simple cord, that is a clue that it is probably just an inexpensive decoration.

Greg

3. charlie cheswick

very good point greg, thanks for the info

4. Any Jewelry

Any Jewelry Well-Known Member

I agree with Greg, the carving isn't top notch. But it is jade, celadon with a bit of russet colour, which is valued in China.

These small carvings on a silk cord were carried for luck, tucked into clothing, or in one's pocket. I forgot the name, there is a specific term for them.
    They are always on a silk cord, never with gold, not even the quality ones. It isn't jewellery, but a good luck charm for personal use.
    Yours is probably missing a silk tassle though.

A goldfish is associated with gold, so prosperity. A useful symbol to have on your person.;)

5. charlie cheswick

great info as always, thanks Aj i had a feeling it was, just not a quality piece.

i shall keep it and keep my fingers crossed :)