Featured Marilyn Monroe (Modern Screen Magazine 1953)

Discussion in 'Ephemera and Photographs' started by Vintage Maven, Aug 17, 2019.

1. Vintage Maven

Vintage Maven Well-Known Member

From my collection, an original full issue of an October, 1953 Modern Screen Magazine featuring Marilyn Monroe on the cover, there is also an article inside about her written by Sidney Skolsky famed Hollywood journalist.

4A38F636-00F5-4F32-8031-048C6A9D5B02.jpeg

2. charlie cheswick

charlie cheswick Well-Known Member

I'm enjoying these more and more !

I feel the same as Sidney Skolsky :)

3. Vintage Maven

Glad you are enjoying the vintage posts

4. daveydempsey

daveydempsey Moderator Moderator

Vintage Maven likes this.
  5. Vintage Maven

I have actually seen the headshot many years ago, I definitely think photographers should use a code of conduct/ethics when choosing what to photograph. I know I personally have, being a photographer myself, there are certain things I use my inner judgement on, if it is journalistically important etc. There are certain things, I feel, the public should not see, this also provides dignity to whomever the photograph is taken of.

Christmasjoy and i need help like this.
  6. daveydempsey

I saved the pic before it was taken down.
    She had quite large ears under all that peroxide.

7. Vintage Maven

Regardless whether she had large ears or not, if it’s the postmortem photo I think you saw, it would have been taken after/during the pathology exam. That is when an incision is made on top of the scalp causing ligaments and muscles on face and head to droop down, causing features to become more enlarged looking than they already are. These photos should never have been seen publicly, in my opinion. But the laws are not as protective in the U.S. regarding this.

Last edited: Aug 18, 2019
  8. Houseful

Houseful Well-Known Member

I saw it today too. It didn’t look like her at all, I thought they had made a mistake.