Need advice, refinishing library table

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by Shet7, Nov 25, 2016.

1. Shet7

Shet7 New Member

IMG_0775.JPG IMG_0774.JPG I found this table on Craigslist and really like the design. I was sad to find that the original finish had been stripped off, but I purchased it anyway. I'm an avid woodworker, and have built and taught woodworking in the past, but don't have much experience with antiques. I'd like to refinish it, but keep the worn and aged condition. I'd like some advice on types of stain and finishes, that would match the original (although I don't know what it original looked like). Any advice would help. Thanks.

2. komokwa

komokwa The Truth is out there...!

Free your mind...original is boring !
    The wood is nice , with good grain.
    I'd paint the feet knobs black, and do the base and columns in a soft cherry wood stain, and a light golden stain on the table top.

Let your heart pick the hues...:happy:

3. Ownedbybear

Ownedbybear Well-Known Member

I'd just wax it.

4. Shet7

Shet7 New Member

That's not a bad idea, I could get creative with it. but I'd like to try and make it look original.

5. Shet7

Shet7 New Member

Yeah I probably will. I think I'll stain it with dark walnut danish oil, and wax it.

6. gregsglass

gregsglass Well-Known Member

Hi,
    I would get a couple cans of red mahogany good quality shoe wax. Give it a couple of coats and it will look wonderful.
    greg

7. verybrad

verybrad Well-Known Member