Featured Oak buffet sideboard?

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by Losobug, Jun 12, 2021.

1. Losobug

Losobug New Member

A1030016-F1A3-46BD-97EF-0ED928BBB1B4.jpeg 1225F1DD-ED8D-4F1C-AB8F-405D20A95886.jpeg A8668C1F-66F5-414C-AB20-07AA3B92B5DE.jpeg AA874363-3D3F-4A89-A9D6-D1DC195AC751.jpeg View attachment 333191 Hello, I got this piece from Facebook marketplace. I love it but just wondering the age and what it is called exactly. Don’t laugh, I’m new at this

Last edited: Jun 12, 2021
  2. Roaring20s

Roaring20s Well-Known Member

3. Losobug

Losobug New Member

I was also wondering what the style of leg might be called? I googled furniture legs and found every shape except those thank you.

4. Roaring20s

Roaring20s Well-Known Member

James Conrad likes this.
  5. Losobug

Losobug New Member

Thanks, those do look pretty similar.

6. James Conrad

James Conrad Well-Known Member

Losobug, Ghopper1924 and Roaring20s like this.
  7. Losobug

Losobug New Member

James Conrad likes this.
  8. James Conrad

Yes, the Tudor period is an interesting part of English history.
    The exploration of America and the plays of William Shakespeare. During the sixteenth century, England emerged from the medieval world & the English Renaissance began. It was a time of great change, most notably it marked the end of the Catholic church in England.
    The furniture was pretty cool too. :happy:

Last edited: Jun 13, 2021
  9. Losobug

Losobug New Member

Thanks for the history lesson. The sideboard and I live in Oregon. My son is the history buff here maybe he’ll appreciate my furniture now with some history behind it..lol. By this pieces appearance and has those tiny fine dovetails in the drawers can you guess an age for it? It does have flathead screws on the hinges though so maybe not so old.‍♀️ It is cool though.

James Conrad likes this.
  10. Debora

Debora Well-Known Member