Opinions on another piece for repair

Discussion in 'Pottery, Glass, and Porcelain' started by Ruedi, Oct 19, 2015.

1. Ruedi

Ruedi Active Member

I must apologize for my poor computer skills re photos...but would like your opinions on this piece..to fix or leave as is. I've had it a long time. thanks in advance GetAttachment 4.jpg GetAttachment5.jpg GetAttachmen6.jpg

cxgirl likes this.
  2. Bakersgma

Bakersgma Well-Known Member

Is that a Van Briggle mark I see?

3. Pat P

Pat P Well-Known Member

I have no knowledge about it, but that looks like a very handsome vase.

4. verybrad

verybrad Well-Known Member

It is Van Briggle. Would like to see the bottom better to get an idea of age. An early version of this vase might be worth having restored. A later version, maybe not so.

5. Ruedi

Ruedi Active Member

Thank you very much for the replies...I always seem to have time only when I am away from home working. I will try to get better pictures when I get home in two days. Thak you all for your time.

komokwa likes this.
  6. gregsglass

gregsglass Well-Known Member

Hi,
    There are two different ways to have repaired. One is more expensive than the other. One using just "fill in" it will look nice but not being able to use it. That is the cheapest way. The other is a full restoration so you can use it like it was never chipped. I have several done both ways. If you plan on keeping use the cheap way For sale I would use the more expensive way. Some of my Fiesta has the cheap repair since it is for me and never used. Some of the Fiesta I spent more money on
    since it was for sale.
    greg

7. TallCakes

TallCakes Well-Known Member

*crs* likes this.
  8. verybrad