Featured Persephone cameo? Please help!

Discussion in 'Jewelry' started by Simona Buhus, Mar 1, 2024.

1. Simona Buhus

Simona Buhus Well-Known Member

Good evening,
    New purchase, possibly Persephone cameo set in sterling silver.
    The stone used is heavy, and I ruled out Whitby Jet. Could it be onyx or is it glass?
    I can see the carving is glued, but am not sure about what the carving is made of, it looks like stone to my eye.
    I would like to ask your thoughts on the depiction, age and the stone, as I am still learning, this is only a presumption.
    Thank you.
    Kind regards,
    Simona
    @Bronwen @PepperAnna @Any Jewelry @kyratango
    CB8BF719-BA28-47D2-AA8A-116D65792A5C.jpeg 4A3C6D34-E5B3-4EF5-AF81-3C5F07F4FC7E.jpeg 31CD8F7C-2DBB-49B4-89C5-9EBA94EF4F9D.jpeg

2. Bronwen

Bronwen Well-Known Member

The nymph Arethusa, who is closely connected with Persephone.

3. Bronwen

If it's assembled of 2 pieces, think glass is most likely. Have never seen such a piece where both parts were stone.

4. Simona Buhus

Thank you so much, there is a small chip down, will take a photo in the morning if that helps to get a better idea.
    Is there any test I could do for glass, would it be see through?
    Thank you.
    Kind regards,
    Simona

Bronwen likes this.
  5. kyratango

kyratango Bug jewellery addiction!

I see open bubbles on the back, thus glass;)
    Victorian era, around 1880.

Last edited: Mar 1, 2024
  6. Simona Buhus

Thank you for your reply. I wonder how can one identify which is which? Is there a difference or a tell tell between the depiction of Nymph Arethusa and Persephone?
    Thank you.

Bronwen likes this.
  7. mirana

mirana Well-Known Member