Featured Pre-war Cavalier cedar chest with top veneer issues

Discussion in 'Furniture' started by WilliamTK1974, Jul 17, 2021.

1. WilliamTK1974

WilliamTK1974 New Member

Hello everyone,

The cedar chest bug bit hard. I just bought this pre-war Cavalier. While its outside shows some wear and veneer damage, the inside is quite nice and still quite redolent of cedar. It could have been treated at some point, but this seems more like it was kept closed for a long period of time.

I'll supply more photos, but the top veneer is quite chipped. I've never done this before, but would like to replace it. What do I need to look for regarding matching color, and should I count on using TiteBond to glue any new veneer down? I didn't buy this as an investment piece, so I'm just trying to improve its appearance and preserve what I can.

Thank you,
    -William

192826508_10159484733814374_2217521961093936885_n.jpeg

2. Figtree3

Figtree3 What would you do if you weren't afraid?

3. James Conrad

James Conrad Well-Known Member

Yeah, unless familiar with woodworking generally, not sure I would start with veneer.
    There are so many variables involved, what kind of substrate, what kind of the many different types of veneer, paper-backed, wood-backed, etc would be best, bla bla bla. Then there are the tools, clamps, presses, etc, quite a lot going on with veneer work.

Figtree3 likes this.
  4. WilliamTK1974

WilliamTK1974 New Member

A few more pictures of the top.

820D02B2-19F1-4BD8-AF1A-009F9AA6F771.jpeg

37D284F6-42A1-4EB6-B020-296E87C367ED.jpeg

D38E9423-C536-43D1-B7A5-4D86EDFFFADB.jpeg

0466FA83-5D8A-4440-8B33-C7569302D31A.jpeg

The last one is to show the color and grain to get some ideas of what sort of veneer to try and match it.

This is a flat, horizontal surface, and I’m not trying to re-veneer a waterfall or anything like that. Given the chest’s condition, I almost feel like there’s nothing to lose by trying. Have to learn somehow.

Thank you,
    -William